Speeding Tickets

If you are caught speeding, you face several penalties. First, all speeders in Oregon will be required to pay a fine that ranges between $100 and $250. Traveling 20 mph over a posted speed limit will result in a suspension of your license. At that speed, police officers may further charge you with reckless driving. The final punishment involved with speeding are points assessed to your driver's license. Speeding in Oregon will earn you between three and five points on your license. Accumulating more than 12 points in an 18-month period will trigger a suspension of your license.

The penalty for speeding is more severe around schools, where speeding threatens our most vulnerable — children. Generally speaking, the speed limit in school zones is 15 mph. The average speeding ticket in Oregon fines a driver $110. If you are caught speeding in a school zone, the fine will typically be twice that and may even cause your license to be suspended.