Notice: About 90 Percent of Cars Provide Good or Moderate Quality of Air. Is Your Car Helping or Hurting the Environment?

Emissions Testing

Emission testing is required for certain vehicles in the Portland and/or Medford metropolitan areas as part of the registration tag renewal process. For vehicles new to Oregon, they must also pass an emissions test prior to being registered in those areas.

Which vehicles are required to have the emissions test in Oregon?

Any Light duty truck or gasoline-operated car less than 35 years old needs to pass an emissions test every year before its registration is renewed. Since 1996, in accordance with the 1990 Clean Air Act, all vehicles were equipped with On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) systems. As a result, most vehicles manufactured before 1996 and all vehicles manufactured before 1994 are exempt from an OBD emissions check. They do, however, have to pass a safety inspection on an annual basis.

The following are also exempt from the annual emissions check:

  • Vehicles that are registered under the farmer rate
  • Vehicles 35 years old or older
  • Diesel-operated vehicles
  • Brand new vehicles
  • Electric-powered vehicles
  • Hybrid vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Motorized Scooters
  • Where to take your car for an emissions check:

    There are many vehicle inspection stations located throughout the state. You can find one near you via a Inspection Location, or call customer service at (919) 715-7000, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m Pacific Time.

    How to make an appointment for an emissions test:

    Find a Station Locator to find a location near you and contact them to schedule an appointment. You will need to bring your vehicle's registration and a form of payment for the emissions check and the safety inspection.