Oregon Drivers Education
Are you a first-time driver in Oregon? Prepare yourself for a drivers license with courses designed to instruct you on the rules of the road and help make driving safe for everyone. Select from the options below to get started.
2: Enroll in a state-approved Drivers Ed course
3: Take the state Driver's exam
Drivers Education in Oregon:
It is advisable to complete an ODOT-approved Oregon Drivers Education program to be able to drive safely in the state of Oregon. An Oregon Drivers Ed applicant should study the Oregon Drivers Manual, either online or get a hard copy at a local DMV office or local police station. Reading the Oregon Drivers Handbook will allow prospective drivers to be updated on the road rules and state laws.
ODOT Approved Drivers Education Programs
Teens between 15 and 17 years old have options in choosing an Oregon Drivers Ed course. The Drivers Ed program must be certified by the Oregon Drivers Ed Division of the DMV. Each school listed or recommended must show compliance with the mandated guidelines.
Requirements For Oregon Drivers Ed Completion
- Proof of school enrollment
- Form 735-7185, Statement of enrollment available through the school
- Proof of high school graduation
- Proof of receipt of Oregon General Education Development (GED) certificate
- Complete 30 hours of instructions in the classroom
- Six hours of behind the wheel training with approved instructor
- Six hours observation in the vehicle
- Not more than 18 years of age when completing this Oregon Drivers Ed program
- Parents/guardian must certify five hours of behind-the-wheel practice session done
Oregon Drivers Ed Restrictions
Driving privileges may be restricted by the Oregon DMV for 90 days if:
- There are two convictions
- Two accidents
- A combination of one of each
The restriction will be in addition to the one for provisional liceneses.
If the Oregon drivers license holder is older than 18, then restrictions will apply when:
- Three convictions or
- Three accidents or
- A combination of the above within a time frame of eighteen months
Drivers Improvement Program
These programs are conducted if the driver has committed a driving offense. This program teaches people to drive safely on roads, so as to maintain the road safety in Oregon. Depending on the number of driving/road offenses—running red lights, speeding, not signaling a lane change—the Oregon DMV may restrict or suspend the driving previleges.
Oregon Drivers Ed Course Benefits And Curriculum
Like any other class, Oregon drivers ed classes have a set guideline for what the state of Oregon wants young and old drivers to learn. Prospective Oregon drivers license holders who are new drivers can easily access these courses at their local schools. Older prospective Oregon drivers license holders wishing to take a drivers ed course can access an accredited on via a private school. The curriculum includes:
- Oregon road laws and traffic rules and road signs
- Parking and reversing the vehicle
- Driving at night or in bad/inclement weather
- Turning at all the major and minor intersections
- Always drive within the speed limits to avoid penalties and suspension of driving privileges
- 100 hours of driving is required
- With completion of Drivers Ed, the Oregon DMV accepts fifty hours of driving with completion certificate to enable a driver to get their drivers license
The Oregon Drivers Ed Division of the DMV is committed to training all new Oregon drivers license holders to the road rules and laws of the state. An Oregon Drivers Ed course reduces the chances of fatal accidents considerably. Anyone choosing to take drivers education in Oregon, may be elgible for lower insurance rates.
Find out how to get your Oregon Learners Permit here.